Danny Jordan Wins Third Term As South Africa Football Association President By An Overwhelming Margin

Danny Jordaan will continue to head up the South African Football Association after winning the presidency.

SAFA President Danny Jordan beat Ria Ledwaba and Solly Mohlabeng to secure the presidency for a third term following a very comfortable win.

The South-Africa born Football Administrator, will serve as the president of the South African Football Association for a third term. Jordaan beat out Ria Ledwaba and Solly Mohlabeng to the top prize at SAFA’s national elective congress at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg.

The race for the South African Football Association Presidency has seen its fair share of drama but the matter has escalated to a whole new level with current President Danny Jordan, Vice President Ria Ledwaba and SAFA Tshwane regional Chairperson Solly Mohlabeng all contested the presidency.

Jordan is a former lecturer, politician and anti-apartheid activist. He led South Africa’s successful 2010 FIFA World Cup bid, the first successful one for Africa, as well as the country’s unsuccessful bid four years earlier for the 2006 FIFA World Cup, and was the chief executive officer of the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa. He is also the former Mayor of the Nelson Mandela Bay Metropolitan Municipality, having served from May 2015 until August 2016.

The Royal Morocco Football Federation (FRMF) President Fouzi Lekjaa also recently won his third term in office recently.

About the author


Leave a Comment