Ehiabor Henrietta Becomes NWFL Club Owners Chairperson

Following several weeks of suspense, elections into the board of the Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) Club Owners finally took place on Thursday at Radisson Blu Hotel in Ikeja, Lagos.

After a transparent exercise, Delta Queens’ Ehiabor Henrietta emerged as the New Chairperson after defeating incumbent Matilda Otuene of Rivers Angels.

The election was scheduled by the former Chairperson Matilda Otuene after simple majority activated a part of the constitution that says “an emergency meeting can be called either by the Excos or simple majority.”

26 clubs from the NWFL Premiership and Championship were in attendance with only Pelican Stars not represented.

Barrister Paul Edeh (Naija Ratels), Omokhagbor Sixtus (Edo Queens), Rollanson Odeh (Ibom Angels), Victor Ejiofor (Imo Strikers), Ademola Kiyesola (Moje Queens), Gloria Anta (Oasis) and Kuhwa Jeremiah (Honey Badgers) were in attendance at the meeting. They also voted at the election.

At the meeting, the Excos were dissolved, three panel electoral committee was set up as stated in the Association’s constitution. Election was properly carried out and winners emerged.

The electoral committee was made up of:

A. Hajia Husseina Suleiman – Chairperson Nasarawa Amazons (Chairman)

B. Danny Nazzal – Chairman Dannaz Ladies FC (Member)

C. Alimasan K. Edema – General Manager Royal Queens (Secretary)

Several elements had tried to restrain the NWFL Club Owners from going on with the transparent process, but the electoral committee headed by Hajia Hussaina went ahead with the elections.

In the election which was conducted at Radisson Blu Hotel, Ehiabor pulled a total of 16 votes to beat Rivers Angels General Manager, Matilda Otuene. Matilda pulled a total of 10 votes.

Aminu Muhammed narrowly defeated FC Robo Queens owner Emmanuel Osahon to the position of Vice Chairman. He had 14 votes against his opponent’s 12.

Abolore Rahman of Dream Stars had 17 votes against Akingbade Temitope (Osun Babes) 9.

Ojo Tosin of Confluence Queens emerged as Treasurer.

Other members of Club Owners board are Kehinde Odogun (Financial Secretary), Humphrey Njoku (PRO) and Sylvia (Assistant Secretary).

The NWFL Club Owners thanked Hajia Hussaina Suleiman of Nasarawa Amazons for a motherly role in the progress of the Association.

The meeting appreciated the leadership of Matilda Otuene for her efforts over the years.

Ehiabor who was immediately sworn in along with the other board members, assured all candidates that she would carry every football stakeholder along in her challenge to move Nigerian women’s football forward.

She said “I accept the very big task now on my shoulder today I hope to discharge my well for the development of women’s football.”

“I want to be at every club owner’s service and that of the Association. I want to be accountable and ensure growth of women’s football in Nigeria.

“As a former board member and General Manager of Delta Force, I understand what growth entails.”

About the author


Leave a Comment