Eyiowuawi FC Crowned Adeleke Memorial Cup Champions

Babatunde Eyiowuawi FC, was crowned the Champions of the Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Cup, on Saturday evening, edging past Hammola Int’l FC 6-5 via penalties after a goalless 90 minutes of football.

The match which was held at the Federal Polytechnic Ede Football Pitch had in attendance, the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) 2018 Gubernatorial Candidate, Senator Nurudeen Ademola Adeleke, Osun PDP Chairman, Chief Sunday Bisi, Elder Peter Babalola, Chief Bayo Faforiji, Timi of Ede, Oba Minirudeen Lawal, and many other dignitaries.

The final match witnessed a lot of interesting moments but unlike the first edition played last year, this year’s edition needed penalty shootouts to decide the winners both in the third place game and the final match. In the third place game, New United FC, Ejigbo beat GFCC Ede-North, 5-4 on penalties following a 1-1 full time draw.

And in the final Babatunde Eyiowuawi FC, who came third last year, defeated Hammola Int’l FC, Ido-Osun FC 6-5 on penalties after a goalless match. Adekunle Shakiru of Hammola Int’l FC lost a couple of chances in the game to put his side ahead, while Lawal Taiwo of Eyiowuawi FC was also found guilty upfront.

By winning this year’s Edition, the Ede-South team ensured Ede town retained the trophy won last year by Adeleke Dynasty, a team also based in Ede.

It was all joy for the sole sponsor, Hon. Bamidele Salam for hosting yet another successful competition in remembrance of the first executive governor of Osun State.

The House or Reps Member representing the good people of Ede North, Ede South, Egbedore and Ejigbo Federal Constituency, stated that the late former Governor of Osun State, Senator Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke lived an exemplary life and thus deserves to be celebrated. The Lawyer cum Politician in his speech thanked everyone that made the competition a success, including all the dignitaries and every member of his Constituency that were present.

Also speaking during the event, Senator Nurudeen Ademola Adeleke thanked the Organiser of the annual Football Competition, Hon. Bamidele Salam, for deeming it fit to honour the memory of his late brother, Senator Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke. The incoming Governor as he is fondly called also promised to adopt proactive programmes that would turn around the fortune of the state and lift thousands out of poverty if elected the Governor of the state in July this year.

Medals and trophy were presented to the Winners (Babatunde Eyiowuawi FC) same was done for the second placed team, Hammola Int’l FC and the third placed team, New United FC, Ejigbo.

For the individual awards, Adekunle Shakiru of Hammola Int’l FC was voted the Most Valuable Player of the tournament, while his teammate, Rahman Imran was voted the best Goalkeeper of the tournament. Babatunde Eyiowuawi FC Manager, Akin Oyedunmola got the accolade for the best Coach of the tournament, as Taofeeq Adeoye went home with the best defender Awards.

Full list of winners.

Babatunde Eyiowuawi FC, Ede-South – Winners

Hammola Int’l FC (1st runner-up)

New United FC, Ejigbo (2nd runner-up)

MVP – Adekunle Shakiru (Hammola Int’l FC)

Highest Goal Scorer- Ayo Olajuba (6 Goals)

Best Defender – Taofeeq Adeoye (Eyiowuawi FC)

Best Coach – Akin Oyedunmola (Eyiowuawi FC)

Best Goalkeeper – Rahman Imran (Hammola Int’l FC)

Fair play Award – GFCC FC.

The Competition which is dedicated in honour of the first Civilian Governor of Osun State, Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke is solely sponsored by Rep Bamidele Salam, who represents the good people of Ede North, Ede South, Egbedore and Ejigbo Federal Constituency in the National Assembly.

About the author


Leave a Comment