Isiaka Adeleke Memorial Cup Kicks-Off In Ejigbo

House of Representatives Member, Bamidele Salam has declared open the second edition of the Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Championship billed to hold from the 5th of December 2021 to the 15th of January 2022.

The Ogiyan Football Pitch, Ejigbo was filled with life and exuded with so much energy and merriments, as Sports enthusiast, Party leaders, youths all came in their large numbers to witness the kick-off of the 2nd edition of Senator Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Cup.

Declaring the Competition open, Rep Bamidele Salam, who was represented by his Media Aide, Hon. Oladele Bamiji urged all the 16 participating teams to conduct themselves in a peaceful manner during and after the games, even as he assures that all necessary logistics have been put in place to ensure the smooth running of the competition.

“He stressed that the competition was formed to primarily honour the late Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke, who gave his all to the development of Osun State and also to basically keep the youths busy and away from societal vices, as well as accord them opportunity to showcase and discover their talents.

Each participating team were drawn from four Federal Constituency namely Ede North, Ede South, Egbedore and Ejigbo

Adeleke Dynasty FC are the defending Champions of the Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Cup, after they defeated Surprise Tanjo FC, Ejigbo in a well attended final match at the Federal Polytechnic Ede, Football Pitch.

In addition to the giant trophy ,medals and individual awards given to outstanding players in the Competition. All the 16 participating teams at the last edition were presented with cash gifts by Rep Bamidele Salam, as a way of encouraging the players and the coaching crew.

Temidire FC, Ilawo played a 1-1 draw with New United FC, Ejigbo in the opening match of the 2021 edition.

The Competition, which is dedicated in honour of the first Civilian Governor of Osun State, Otunba Isiaka Adeleke is solely sponsored by Rep. Bamidele Salam who represents the good people of Ede North, Ede South, Egbedore and Ejigbo Federal Constituency of Osun State in the National Assembly.

About the author


Leave a Comment