UNIBEN Best Graduating Student Receives N250,000

Henry Abanum, the University of Benin’s overall top graduating student during the institution’s recently ended 46th and 47th combined Convocation Ceremonies, has been recognized with the N250, 000 ‘Osasere Osifo Prize for Academic Excellence’ award.

The Academic Excellence Prize is the brainchild of Osasere Osifo, a former President of the UNIBEN Students’ Union and current Vice-President of the University of Benin Alumni Association North America chapter. He is also a United States Air Force veteran.

The award presentation ceremony took place on Monday at the University of Benin’s Students’ Affairs Division, where Abanum was recognized for graduating from the Faculty of Pharmacy with a First Class and a 4.97 grade point average.

Speaking at the Award ceremony, Osifo bemoaned that in today’s society, glorifying mediocrity and shunning excellence had become the norm, prompting the establishment of the Osasere Osifo Prize for Academic Excellence in order to shift the narrative.

Osifo, who was represented by former UNIBEN SUG Public Relations Officer Oguche Omale, said Abanum’s academic achievement should be appreciated by all lovers of excellence, hard work, and perseverance.

In honoring Abanum, ElOsifo stated that the Osasere Osifo Prize for Academic Achievement aims to motivate other Nigerian students to make academic excellence their primary goal as they navigate the university’s four walls.

“I am convinced that this honor is the start of all good things to come for the awardee as the overall best at the University of Benin,” he said.

“Mr. Abanum has demonstrated that quality is never accidental; it is the consequence of intelligent effort, and the awardee’s intelligent effort is being recognized today.”

At the University of Benin’s Ugbowo Campus, the award ceremony was attended by the institution’s Dean of Students’ Affairs, Patrick Igbinaduwa, and the Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy, Mike Uhumwangho.

Others include Omokaro Kaka Nosakhare Eguagie, Public Relations Officer of the UNIBEN Alumni Association; NANS leaders Imadeyogie Stephen and Pius Payeke; and Ogochukwu Isioma, Publisher of Campus Gist.

About the author


Leave a Comment